Administrators can create and customize workspace member roles with unique permission rules per role.
Role Builder Overview
Roles can be configured by workspace owners or administrators. The Permissions Role Builder can be accessed via the workspace settings screen.
The Role Builder lists all roles, starting with the four Standard Roles that are included by default with the workspace, and followed by any custom roles that are added.
A custom role definition consists of:
- Name: The name given to the role. This is the name that appears when referring to the role from the member's screen.
- Default role permission settings: Each role has "Default Permission Settings" for all of the forms within the workspace. What this means is that if you do not specify certain permission settings for a specific form, the default settings will apply.
- Form-level overrides: these settings apply to a particular form, and will override the default role permissions.
Anatomy of a permission
Default role permissions and form-level overrides are defined the same way. You can configure each of the following:
|Access Form||The workspace member will see the form listed in the data tab, and additional permissions can be configured as listed below.||Choosing "no" disables all permissions to the form. The workspace member will not see the form listed in the data tab. If they have access to a form that contains a link to this form, then they will not be able to choose a record from this related form.||N/A|
|Add Records||The workspace member can add records to this form.||The workspace member cannot add additional records to this form.||N/A|
|View Records||The workspace member can view all records in this form.||The workspace member cannot view any records in this form. Note: it is rare to choose this permission, although you may wish to do so if you only want your workspace members to add records, but never view them.||The workspace member can only view records that match a pre-defined filter rule against the set of records. See Setting Custom Filter Permissions|
|Edit/Delete Records||The workspace member can edit and delete all records in the form. Note: it is not possible at this time to separate edit and delete permissions.||The workspace member cannot edit or delete any records in this form.||The workspace member can only edit or delete records that match a pre-defined filter rule against the set of records. See Setting Custom Filter Permissions.|
Setting Custom Filter Permissions
It's possible to set custom filter view and edit permissions. This allows you to grant permission to only a subset of the records in a form while restricting them from those that do not meet the filter criteria you define.
To enable this feature on either the View Records or Edit/Delete Records setting on for a form, select Custom, then click on the filter gear to open the filter panel. From there, select the filter rules that you wish to apply to this role setting. Learn more in Filtering.