Working with Columns and Views

Overview

Managing and saving your views is one of many things that makes Zengine great. Grouping, sorting and show/hiding data allows you to manipulate your data how you see fit.  You can use all of the features described in this section in conjunction with each other.

Show/Hide Columns

The sample below shows a workspace with a form called Submissions that contains fields such as Project Name, Program Category, First Name, and Last Name.  These fields manifest themselves as columns in the data grid.

If you as a user would like to show or hide a column, you simply click on the Columns icon.

After clicking on the icon a dropdown will appear with a list of fields within that form. It will also display columns from related forms based on the linked fields, as well as any summary fields. 

Simply check or uncheck the specific fields you want to be shown in your spreadsheet view.

Sorting

Sorting allows you to view data in a specific field either numerically or alphabetically. If you click on a specific field's column header, an arrow will appear and your data will be sorted. 

If you click on that field's column header again, the arrow will flip upside down and your data will be sorted in reverse alphabetical/numerical order.

Grouping

Grouping is done by dragging a field to the drag and drop box in order to sort based on that field.   For example, perhaps the field is State, and you want to group the entries by State such that the New York entries are grouped together and the New Jersey entries are grouped together.

In the example below, people can submit applications each year.  The administrator wants to group applications by award year, which is a field on the form.  

To accomplish this, the administrator dragged and dropped the Award Year column header to this area, the drag and drop area:

Saving a View

Once you have arranged your columns and sorted and grouped your data, you may decide that you want this to be a view that you utilize again. You can save this view so that next time, you can select the view instead of resorting and regrouping your data again.

Once you change a view, you will see the following message at the top:

You can "Save view" in order to save changes you have made to a preexisting view.  You can "save as new view" to create a new one.

Clicking 'Save as new view' will bring up this screen:

Name your view and save.  You will now see it as an option in Manage Views dropdown.

You can take this a step further, such that your view is set as the default view each time you enter the workspace.  Under the View dropdown, select Manage Views.

You can click "Set as Default View" next to the view you wish to make your default.

Your current default view will be marked as such.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us