Permissions

Overview

The Permissions feature allows you to customize and build roles based on different levels of access that your users can and should have to your workspace and forms.

Permissions are accessed through your workspace's Settings & Tools.

Click on the Permissions icon next.

You will be brought to a list of your existing workspace roles.

Standard Roles

Each Workspace has the following four standard roles

Owner

When designated as an Owner, this means that you either created the workspace or were named an Owner by another workspace member who was already an Owner.

An Owner can do  ANYTHING within a workspace including inviting new members to join the workspace, access form settings, changing existing member roles, and creating new roles for workspace members.  Owners have access to workspace level settings and are able to manipulate the general settings, forms, workflow, notifications, and permissions.

This is a system-level role, which means that you cannot edit or delete this role from any workspace.

Administrator

An Administrator can do everything that an Owner can do  EXCEPT for the following:

  • Cannot delete workspaces
  • Cannot Invite workspace members as Owners
  • Cannot delete workspace members that are Owners

This is a system-level role, which means that you cannot edit or delete this role from any workspace.

Editor

The Editor role is meant for a workspace member who should have access to manipulate all of the data, but who should not have permission to workspace level settings. An Editor by default has the following settings:

  • Access All Forms: You have access to all of the forms within the workspace.
  • Add Records: You can add records in each form.
  • View Records: You have viewing access to each record within the workspace.
  • Edit Records: You are able to edit all records within the workspace.
  • Delete Records: You are able to delete any records within the workspace.
  • Export Records: You are able to export records you can access within the workspace.

**This Role cannot access Workspace Settings**

Even though each workspace has an Editor role, this role can be edited or deleted. Only Administrators and Owners are able to make these changes. 

Full Member

The Full Member role is meant for a workspace member who should have access to view the data within a workspace and manipulate data that they created, but they do not have permission to workspace level settings. A Full Member by default has the following settings:

  • Access All Forms: You have access to all of the forms within the workspace.
  • Add Records: You can add records in each form.
  • View Records: You have viewing access to each record within the workspace.
  • Edit Records: You are ONLY able to edit records that you have created. Any other records will be view only to you.
  • Delete Records: You are ONLY able to delete records that you have created. All other records you will not be able to delete.
  • Export Records: You are able to export records you can access within the workspace.

**This Role cannot access Workspace Settings**

Even though each workspace has a Full Member role, this role can be edited or deleted. Only Administrators and Owners are able to make these changes. 

Learn more about Standard Roles.

Custom Roles

If the four standard roles don't fit your needs, you can create and customize your own roles.  To do this, click the green '+ Add Role' button from the Roles Panel.

Name your role and click Save.

Click the Edit icon for that role to access the custom panel.

Here you will see that you can adjust roles at a workspace level or at a form level.  You can control access, the ability to add records, the ability to view records, and the ability to edit/delete records.

In order to override the workspace-level permissions, click 'Turn on custom settings' for a particular form to adjust permissions particular to one's ability to access that form or add/view/edit/delete records within that form.

The View Records and Edit/Delete Records permission levels present you with an even greater ability to fine tune your permissions by utilizing filters.  In other words, you can set it such that a user can only view records or edit records that meet a specific criteria - from the state of New York, for instance.  For more information about the Filter Panel, go here.

Learn more in  Custom Roles article. 

Role Limits

Currently, there can be at most 20 members in a workspace, and 20 different roles. Your billing plan may contain further restrictions. 

If you wish to share data with more than 20 users at a time, consider adding an  external portal.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us