Standard Roles

New workspaces begin with the following four Standard Roles: Owner, Administrator, Editor, and Full Member. Additional workspace roles can be configured via the custom role builder.

Owner

A workspace must have one owner. This person is either the one who created the workspace or at some point, the previous owner transferred ownership of the workspace to them. The owner of the workspace is responsible for maintaining a  billing plan that supports the workspace's usage.

An owner can do ANYTHING in the workspace, including:

  • Workspace settings: manipulate the general settings, forms, plugins, and permissions
  • Membership Management: invite new members to join the workspace, change existing member roles, and create new roles for workspace members.
  • Data access: access to create, view, edit, or delete any record in the workspace, along with related tasks, events, and files. 

This is a system-level role, which means that you cannot edit or delete this role from any workspace.

Administrator

An Administrator can do everything that an Owner can do EXCEPT for the following:

  • Cannot delete workspaces
  • Cannot invite workspace members as Owners
  • Cannot delete workspace members that are Owners

This is a system-level role, which means that you cannot edit or delete this role from any workspace.

Editor

The Editor role is intended for a workspace member who should have access to manipulate all of the data, but who should not have permission to workspace level settings or to membership management. An Editor by default has the following settings:

  • Access All Forms: Access to all of the forms within the workspace. 
  • Add Records: Add records in each form. 
  • View Records: Viewing access to each record within the workspace. 
  • Edit Records: Edit all records within the workspace. 
  • Delete Records: Delete any records within the workspace. 
Note: Even though each workspace has an Editor role by default, this role can be edited or deleted. Only Administrators and Owners are able to make these changes. Review  Setting Custom Filter Permissions in the Custom Roles article for more information on editing or deleting the Editor Member's role permissions.

Full Member

The Full Member role is intended for a workspace member who should have access to view the data within a workspace and manipulate data that they created, but who should not have permission to workspace level settings or to membership management. A Full Member by default has the following settings:

  • Access All Forms: Access to all of the forms within the workspace. 
  • Add Records: Add records in each form. 
  • View Records: Viewing access to each record within the workspace. 
  • Edit Records: Edit records created by that member. All others will be read-only.
  • Delete Records: Delete records created by that member. All others will be read-only.
Note: Even though each workspace has a Full Member role by default, this role can be edited or deleted. Only Administrators and Owners are able to make these changes. Review  Setting Custom Filt er Permissions in the Custom Roles article for more information on editing or deleting the Full Member's role permissions.

Comparison of Standard Role Permissions

Role Workspace Settings Manage Membership Add & View Records Edit & Delete Records
Owner All All All All
Administrator Cannot delete workspaces Cannot invite or delete owners All All
Editor None None All All
Full Member None None All Only those created by the workspace member

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us